Professional Advisory Board

Our Leadership

Our Foundation Leadership is responsible for guiding our efforts, our staff, and our community members in leading the charge to help people and families affected by epilepsy in New England.

Professional Advisory Board

Phillip L. Pearl, M.D.

Director of Epilepsy and Clinical Neurophysiology
Boston Children's Hospital
William G. Lennox Chair and Professor of Neurology
Harvard Medical School 

Andrew S. Blum, MD, PhD

Director, Comprehensive Epilepsy Program
Director, EEG Lab
Chief, Division of Adult Epilepsy
Rhode Island Hospital
Director, Neurology Residency Training Program
Associate Professor of Neurology
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Cheryl Cahill, MSN, RN

Epilepsy Center
Boston Children’s Hospital

Bernard S. Chang, MD, MMSc

Advisory Dean and Director, Francis Weld Peabody Society
Associate Professor of Neurology
Harvard Medical School
Comprehensive Epilepsy Center,
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Catherine J. Chu, M.D., M.A., M.M.Sc.

Director, Neonatal and Pediatric Continuous EEG Monitoring
Divisions of Child Neurology and Neurophysiology
Massachusetts General Hospital

Laurie Douglass, MD

Director, Pediatric Epilepsy
Director, Telehealth Epilepsy Care Collaborative
Division of Child Neurology
Boston Medical Center

Barbara Dworetzky, MD

Chief, Epilepsy Division
Director, Edward B. Bromfield Epilepsy Program
Department of Neurology
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Associate Professor of Neurology, Harvard Medical School

Eduardo Garcia, MD

Newton-Wellesley Hospital

Gregory L. Holmes, MD

Chair, Department of Neurological Sciences
University of Vermont College of Medicine

Barbara C. Jobst, MD, Dr. med, FAAN

Professor of Neurology
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Director, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Epilepsy Center
Vice Chair, Department of Neurology

Elaine T. Kiriakopoulos, MD, MSc

Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College
Co-Director, Hobscotch Institute for Cognitive Health & Well-Being
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Epilepsy Center
Managing Epilepsy Well Network Coordinating Center at Dartmouth

James Kryzanski, MD

Director, Epilepsy Surgery Program
Tufts Medical Center Department of Neurosurgery

W Curt LaFrance Jr MD, MPH

Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology,
Alpert Medical School
Brown University
Director of Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Neurology,
Rhode Island Hospital

Susan Linn

Ex Officio
President & CEO
Epilepsy Foundation New England

Jong Woo Lee, MD, PhD

Harvard Medical School

David C. McCarthy, Jr., MD

Director of EEG Laboratory and Epilepsy Division
VA Boston Healthcare System
Assistant Professor in Neurology
Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Patricia Osborne Shafer, RN, MN

Epilepsy Nurse Specialist
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston
Senior Director of Health Information and Resources,
Associate Editor of Epilepsy Foundation

Lacey Smith, MS, CGC

Licensed Genetic Counselor
Epilepsy Genetics Program
Department of Neurology, Boston Children’s Hospital

Elizabeth A. Thiele MD PhD

Director, Pediatric Epilepsy Program
Director, Herscot Center for TSC Massachusetts General Hospital Professor of Neurology
Harvard Medical School

Alcy Torres, MD

Boston Medical Center

Kim Celone Willment, PhD

Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Karen Zelano, RN, CPN

Certified School Nurse Teacher

Mark Richardson, MD PhD

Director of Functional Neurosurgery
Massachusetts General Hospital
Charles Pappas Associate Professor of Neurosciences
Harvard Medical School